Integrator 2012: making new designs

As I might not have attracted anybody for some help with graphics, I decided to kick-start some design in order to learn what I’m working with and what constraints apply.

Lure of the Temptress: outside of the smithy

Lure of the Temptress: outside of the smithy

This is really a steep learning curve to be honest. The first set of objects I created to reproduce the look and feel of a location I saw in Lure of the Temptress (see below) proved to be usable for some experimentation but not good to proceed with a final design.

The main reasons is that I designed my objects on a PC rather than a native paint program so that I did not limit myself with the amount of colours I used at the edges of the objects. Anyway, here’s the outcome of my messing around:

Integrator 2012: making new designs by Luigi Di Fraia

Integrator 2012: making new designs!

Here are my new objects:

Integrator 2012: new objects by Luigi Di fraia

Integrator 2012: new objects

Again, this was good experience, but I am afraid I have to find a better strategy to pixelate the graphics before importing them into I2012 as that’s a critical activity.

Hopefully my future experience will be useful to others one day πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Integrator 2012: making new designs

  1. Maham says:

    Hi,

    I am really impressed of seeing the current status of the Integrator. I am really interested to help you so please kindly let me know what kind of things do you need.

    Thanks

    • luigidifraia says:

      Thank you. What’s your expertise field on which you could contribute the best, please? Are you a graphic artist?

      • Maham says:

        Hi, I am the author of Beauty and the Beast of C64 which was created on 1996.
        Basically, I am a developer but I have a good talent and experience in graphics as well.
        I am currently working on an iPad port of Last Ninja. Please inform me in which areas I would be helpful.

        Thanks,
        Maham

      • luigidifraia says:

        Hi Maham. Let’s put some scope on this: this is the C64 version of a new game I am talking about. As you have exposure to the engine and constraints, I won’t bother you with unnecessary advice. May I simply ask you to come up with your own design to showcase? Just as I did you might want to choose a theme/period (I chose Middle Age), design objects and combine them in a full location design.

        BTW, I thought you made a C++ version of LN for PC. Compared to that, this activity would be a step back from PC to the C64 and it would be for some graphic design rather than coding.

    • luigidifraia says:

      Hi Maham. I haven’t read from you for a while. Did you get a chance to do any location design that you can showcase?

  2. Kai Ninja says:

    Nice idea! I might remodel the Zak McKracken levels in Integrator! πŸ™‚ Then again, sticking to the original level style might seem a bit more authentic…

    • luigidifraia says:

      Hey Kai. This is all good experience for me, as the point I learned about the “divine proportion” that I mentioned in my follow-up post. Hopefully this fooling around will help somebody else and boost fans’ confidence? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

