Thoughts on the DC2N and USBhost-64

I was thinking again that DC2N2 is all DC2N should have evolved into: FAT-32 support, sub-folder navigation, long file-names, on-board clock, micro SD/SDHC slot, a choice of larger displays, smaller all-in-one PCB, TAP v 2 playback support, etc.

Having already developed the later, future-proof, versions of DC2N (DC2N3 and DC2N4) I feel like I have achieved all I wanted to achieve regarding the DC2N class of projects.
There are still a few flavours of DC2N I could work at, but that’s really not bothering me too much: My priority is now to get a few nice units out there to other enthusiasts ๐Ÿ™‚

I also feel a huge sense of achievement due to USBhost-64: the transfer speed, the sample applications (including the hi-res slow-motion player, tape dumping and mastering tools), the drivers in Assembly and C along with the BASIC extension.
I really need to get a few of these built and sent out too ๐Ÿ™‚

The other projects I loved to work at are the RTC module for the C64 and the native support for SD cards on the C64. Out of the two, I only plan to build RTC modules for other people. I am waiting for some feedback on the GEOS handling application that I wrote, so after that I should be in a position to build a few units.

The sense of achievement is so strong that I struggle to find motivation for anything else, so I will probably take a rest for a while and just polish these projects a bit ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

