DC2N4 low-cost and Tiny C2N Monitor update

After work today I managed to program all the micro-controllers for Tiny C2N Monitor so once I get the PCBs from manufacturing, build and test one device I should be able to set the final price and ship kits out 🙂

As per DC2N4 low-cost, I managed to finish my first draft of the PCB, using the datasheet of an enclosure, the one I plan to use, as reference. I ordered a few of such enclosures in order to do the necessary validation of the design before I send it to production. Exciting times ahead!

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DC2N4 low-cost and Tiny C2N Monitor update

  1. naz says:

    Hi,

    I requested a device a few times over the past 2 years. Still havn’t had confirmation of me being put on the list for the next batch.
    Naz

    • luigidifraia says:

      Apologies for that. However, there is no “next batch” as such.

      The hardware of the version of DC2N4 that I decided to distribute has only been recently finalized. The final cost is not yet entirely finalized as I am still trying to get components and manufacturing costs down as much as possible in order to address critics that my devices are too expensive. For these reasons I have not allowed pre-ordering of any version of DC2N4 (or DC2N5). I am not building DC2N3 at the moment as it takes too much time and I haven’t got enough of it. I am not building DC2N2 either as it takes even more time to do so and is even more expensive than DC2N3 due to the parts and features I’ve put in.

      As I commented before, when time-scales are so long and details uncertain it makes little sense for me to accept pre-orders as by the time a pre-ordered unit is available potential buyers might not be interested any longer. I also commented that there will be a web page here for ordering once things are finalized.

      It would have taken significantly less time to go to market if people hadn’t criticized my prices in the first instance: DC2N4 would have started selling years ago for 40 GBP, due to the components I use in its design and also the capability to self-update. Most people did not react positively to that so I decided to change the design 2 times.

Leave a Reply

