Dealing with Chinese eBay sellers can be difficult

In order to ascertain which version of the red 1.44′ SPI LCD panel they are currently shipping, I asked 13 eBay sellers “a question about the item” from within their listing. This is the sort of enquiry one would make BEFORE buying an item. I thought my question to be quite clear and direct:

Can you please confirm that the displays read the following at the back?

1.44′ SPI 128*128 V1.1

If they read V2.1 then they are not compatible with V1.1 and I would not be interested in buying them. I would need V1.1 as per pictures of your listing but I need absolute confirmation before buying, please.

Thank you!

Here are the answers I got.

Number 1 I got from 2 apparently unrelated eBay sellers:

thanks for your msg,dear
do you changed your ebay id?
if yes, could you please kindly send your original ebay id to me? so that i can check it in our system, and find the order detailes in time.

if not, could you please kindly send me the paypal transaction id( not ebay transaction id) ? so that i can check it in our paypal account,

sorry for all the troubles,
waiting for your reply.

Number 2 I got from 2 other apparently unrelated eBay sellers:

Hello
Dear friend
Would you please take a picture of the item and send it to us ?
Our email address is s*****1@hotmail.com.
We will confirm it and then give you solutions in time.
Is that ok?
Anyway, I’m sorry to bring you trouble.
Thanks and best regards!

Number 3:

Hi friend,

We are checking with our supplier and will revert back to you as soon as possible.
Should you have any inquiry, you may email to us and we will try our best to assist.
Appreciate your patient and kind understanding.
Thank you.
Have a nice day!

Best Regards,
Customer Service

Number 4:

Hi. Thanks for your interest in our products. It is V2.1. 🙂
If you like it, you can order dirctly and we will ship the parcel for you within 1 working day.
Any further questions please let us know firstly and we will certainly give you a satisfied solution. Thanks.
Have a nice day.
Kind Regards,

I eventually opted to answer to those who replied with 1 or 2:

Can you take one LCD in your hands, remove the wrapping and send me a picture of both sides before I buy, please?

Thank you.

Some times simple things are harder than what it seems…

If I can’t get to the bottom of this mess by the end of the week, it might be simpler for me to ship replacement MCUs with the firmware that supports V2.1 as I have made all the necessary firmware modifications for V2.1 already.

This entry was posted in Technical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

