More eBay fun around the LCD panels

Today I decided to start an official eBay case to address the eBay seller who sold me red LCD panels V1.1 and subsequently V2.1, which are incompatible. Here’s the answer they sent that made it impossible for me to try and make them appreciate the issue any further:

Dear
so sorry for the problem
i have confirmed with my supplier again about the version you concerned
we sold the version 2.1 all the time,we never sold the version 1.1,
please note there is only one kind of this product in my stock
so are you sure the version 1.1 you received on Octorber was from my shop?
please no worry and any questions are welcome to contact me
regards

After that I started the refund process and advised the seller I was going to leave negative feedback on the basis that what they shipped does not match the pictures within the listing, which is a strong argument. Their reply was light-fast:

Dear
so sorry for the inconvenience caused
this item was version1.1 before and then it was updated from November to version2.1
i really feel sorry for my last email
the structure and the Interface between version1.1 and the 2.1 are the same
only the driver has a little difference
i have the newest instruction of the version2.1 to send you
could you please tell me your email address so that i can send the zip file to you now?
hope you can understand
sorry again
regards

I explained them a number of times that I have kits in the field that will only work with V1.1 and cannot be upgraded, yet this is what I get: an offer to help me to use V2.1, which I already figured out myself.

I have also ordered extra MCUs from Farnell that I will program with the firmware for the red LCD panel V2.1 and ship to affected customers.

Sorry my arse now 🙂

This entry was posted in Crappy Customer Experience, Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More eBay fun around the LCD panels

  1. Cris says:

    Thanks for the effort solving this issue 🙂 I am glad you made it and won.
    Best Wishes,
    Cris

Leave a Reply

