Monkey Island 2 on the C64

I was pondering the possibility of a point-and-click graphic adventure being made for the Commodore 64 (not by myself obviously!). The current hardware limits that I can envisage making this quite hard are just sprites.
In fact, even if every background is multi-color graphics, I don’t see that as a limiting factor: In my mind a graphic adventure on the Commodore 64 could run entirely off mass storage solutions, including my own USBhost-64 device. With each screen all sprites could be loaded as well, if required, but still sprites might be challenging to convert and scale adequately.

In order to prove this to myself, I decided to have a go at reproducing bits of a quite popular graphic adventure: Monkey Island 2. My own exercise was about reproducing a background image from MI2. Here’s the result:

Monkey Island 2: initial location for the C64

Monkey Island 2: initial location for the C64

The mock-up was published on CSDb as well in case you’d like to see how it looks like on your own screen/TV: link here.

Here’s an Amiga screenshot for comparison:

Monkey Island 2 Amiga

Monkey Island 2 Amiga

Not too bad I reckon🙂

This entry was posted in Pixel Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

