SPUTM-like interpreter: sprite multiplexer stability

I’ve finally decided to face one of my demons and check the stability of my sprite multiplexer for the SPUTM-like interpreter. At the moment it’s stable on 5 raster lines out of 8, with one instance to be double checked/thought of which might bring stability onto 6 lines out of 8.
It’s still a provisional test though as in each zone I am only having up to 5 sprites (4 for Guybrush + the pointer) instead of 8 maximum. As I was able to have constant sprite colours in each zone I might have enough cycles left.

Obviously it would all be several orders of magnitude simpler and faster to work with just 3 or 4 sprites for Guybrush instead of 11, but again I am not really good enough with graphics design to do a decent conversion that only uses 4 sprites per frame.

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

