DC2N4-LC Windows native client and more (including a Last Ninja 2 disk version!)

I’ve finally managed to find some time to get back on the DC2N4-LC client code for Windows that uses the native API instead of using GTK+ 2.x. I had started this project when I first figured out the memory leak issues in GTK+ 2.24.10. These issues have been less of a concern after I managed to compile GTK+ 2.24.30 for Windows, but still the work on a native client had been started so I would like to give it some attention every now and then.

I might not be able to finish it any time soon and it might not do much good to users, but it’s one of those challenges I would like to finish at some point. The task is not hard but it just feels like ideas and code form in my head faster than I can type them out. I last had this sort of wonderful feeling when I was coding the hardest functionalities in Integrator 2012 a while back🙂

DC2N4-LC Windows native client coming along nicely

DC2N4-LC Windows native client coming along nicely

I am also experimenting on using the DC2N4-LC firmware on DC2N version 1 hardware, meaning that users with a USB->RSR-232 adapter could be able to dump tapes directly to PC instead of to an SD/SDHC card. This is not something promising due to the reliability of transfer over UART->RSR-232->USB Serial at higher speeds, but SLC had asked the question whether it’d be possible or not, so I decided to give it a shot.

I am also experimenting a bit with IECHost, trying to port the code base to a different MCU and in the process I developed project templates that promise to make prototyping of future projects even faster than now. Who needs Arduino when you have got a robust framework and great template projects to start with? Not to mention that my approach lets me pack more features in smaller micro-controllers than it would be possible if the same features were implemented through Arduino sketches🙂

As a result of all this experimentation, my desk is looking quite clustered recently…

Luigi's desk

Luigi’s desk

I’ve also finished my personal version of Last Ninja 2 for the Commodore 64 that runs on two Disk images (D64 files).

Last Ninja 2 on the Commodore 64

Last Ninja 2 on the Commodore 64

Last Ninja 2 on the Commodore 64 - disk version

Last Ninja 2 on the Commodore 64 – disk version

It’s essentially a crack from the tape version that runs very smoothly and quickly in an emulator such as VICE without true drive emulation enabled.

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

