DC2N5-LC and misc updates

As I haven’t mentioned this before, I wanted to confirm that DC2N5-LC is sold out (both the DIY kit and the assembled device).
It’s been an exciting experience all along since I started with DC2N version 1 but I reckon 5 versions are enough. Unless something changes dramatically in the way we interact with technology there won’t be versions beyond 5, although I might get more DC2N5-LC produced, even if a weak British pound and demand make it unlikely.

If you have a large tape collection and haven’t had a chance to get one of my latest devices to preserve it, I’d recommend DC2N3 as a few devices are available and it uses USB flash-drives to sample data. Besides, DC2N3 is still being supported and comes with a very straightforward self-update feature for firmware updates. Here’s a video of the current look of the firmware:

I’ll close this post with the images of the last DC2N5-LC enclosure I prepared yesterday. Hopefully people will be able to appreciate the amount of work that goes into these enclosures I reshape for my projects🙂

DC2N5-LC case

DC2N5-LC case

DC2N5-LC case

DC2N5-LC case

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

