Restoring color RAM data

Following my recent fix of a  crack-intro I was asked by a couple of people how to go about restoring missing color RAM data?

The short answer to that is: that’s easy if you have the right tools 🙂

Now I am not saying that this doesn’t involve guess work, because it does indeed, but what I am trying to say is that the problem is orders of magnitude simpler if you use a tool that provides a strict separation of the color RAM and video RAM data. There are certainly a zillion editors out there that do, but I used my own home-brew version that I coded when I first started learning assembly, many years ago.

The GUI was inspired by Saracen Paint, which I had only seen on the Italian edition of Zzap!64, so I take no credit for it but for the lack of helpful information.

Fixing color RAM data in my own picture editor

Fixing color RAM data in my own picture editor

When working on uninitialised color RAM data in the editing pane on the right all I needed to do was to hit SHIFT+3 until I had the most appropriate value there, based on surrounding areas and the overall design.
This approach ensured that color RAM data, and color RAM data only, was impacted by the restoration process. That is not necessarily the case in a generic editor, e.g. with common fill tools that were designed for a more generic case and implement color reduction strategies that can alter surrounding pixels.

Signing off until next time!

This entry was posted in Pixel Design, Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

