IECHost “warp” disk imaging completed

This evening I finally finished the Windows command-line version of the PC client for IECHost’s disk dumping feature. That’s just one part of the good news: I also managed to port the “warp” transfer to the MCU I plan to use for this project and test it there, successfully 🙂

Luckily, after some review of my code, I noticed that the MCUs that are in the same family don’t require separate code tuning: The wiring of the IEC bus signals on the MCU I plan to use are slightly different compared to the MCU I was initially using for implementing the warp transfer. Once that was accounted for, things worked absolutely fine!

Just to recap, the current IECHost client can be used on a PC running Windows in order to receive a GCR image of the data sectors from a disk spinning in a 1541 drive connected to IECHost. Such image is then converted to a D64, very similarly to what WarpCopy64 does.

Total cost of the raw materials is around 5 GBP. I will work at a PCB design after Easter. I will also optimize the client software in order to buffer all GCR data in memory, while still going through some error checking to ensure the transfer from the 1541 is error free, and then do the bulk of the conversion ahead of saving to disk.

At the moment I am buffering a single sector in the PC client, converting it and saving it to disk, which on my old and slow PC slows down the receipt of data from IECHost. However, overall disk dumping times are still comparable to WarpCopy64’s 🙂

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

