Thinking of a custom controller for Amiga disks

I was thinking of working at a similar project as my own D1541, but this new one for Amiga disks and 3 and 1/2 inch drives. It would probably be something similar to KryoFlux, i.e. supporting multiple formats, but using the hardware – and my application framework for it – I’ve already widely used for DC2N4-LC, C2NEmu, and IECHost.

Don’t get me wrong: I am not saying that I will make one such devices. I am just thinking of one and you don’t need to tell me there are already a number of projects for doing that: I know that 😉

What I want to do is gather more knowledge about PC floppy drives, MFM encoding and the Amiga DOS. I’ve sort of forgotten a lot about these topics and at a quick glance it is not so immediate to find relevant information on the Web: most search results seem to retrieve material with little to no relevance to what I am after.

As example: when asserting the disk signal for stepping, what’s the minimum duration of the pulse involved? I understand all signals in and out of a standard 3 and 1/2 inch drive are active-low based on their names (such as /STEP and /RDATA), but little I know – or remember – about timings at the moment.

Stay tuned for more.

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

