Barbarian II disk version update

I’ve updated my disk version of Barbarian II to 1.1, which includes:

  • drive LED flashing while loading
  • correct recognition of Drean
  • correct death sequences

The third point had quite hilarious consequences. I guess I was in competitive mode when I tested my first version, hence trying not to get hurt, so I missed the fact that sprites used in certain death sequences were always overwritten with the ones for the female character. As example, at level 1 if the purple dragon ate the male character’s head, his collapsing body would have been the one of the female character!

Barbarian II IFFL version by Luigi Di Fraia

Barbarian II IFFL version by Luigi Di Fraia

The corrected and improved version is available here. I shall copy it to a real disk tomorrow and play it on my C64 🙂

This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

