My work on “Ambigram”

My latest C64 crack intro, Ambigram, has now been published on CSDb.

Ambigram

From Wikipedia:

“An ambigram is a word, art form or other symbolic representation, whose elements retain meaning when viewed or interpreted from a different direction, perspective, or orientation.”

The ambigram logo in full can be appreciated below:

HF ambigram

HF ambigram

Now try rotating the image by 180 degrees and check what it looks like 🙂

The logo is char-mode and was worked at through a number of iterations using my own tool “C64 Hires 2 Charmode”.

Not only that, even the bit rendered with sprites on the border is an ambigram:

NTSC/PAL ambigram

NTSC/PAL ambigram

Same ambigram flipped

Same ambigram flipped

The latter ambigram is NOT used to report the video standard detected at run time: it is meant to suggest that the intro runs without modification on both PAL and NTSC hardware. Back in the 80’s and 90’s a few intro coders would use “NTSC/PAL” to convey the same message, but I thought to use an ambigram for that, in line with the theme of this production 🙂

About Luigi Di Fraia

I am a Senior DevOps Engineer so I get to work with the latest technologies and open-source software. However, in my private time I enjoy retro-computing.
This entry was posted in Pixel Design, Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment