Tiny C2N Monitor: How I go about soldering SMD components

Here’s a few pictures of the method and order in which I solder SMD components on the Tiny C2N Monitor board. Hopefully these will be of some help to those interested in acquiring a DIY kit!

Happy soldering!

About Luigi Di Fraia

I am a Senior DevOps Engineer so I get to work with the latest technologies and open-source software. However, in my private time I enjoy retro-computing.
This entry was posted in Retrocomputing, Technical and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny C2N Monitor: How I go about soldering SMD components

  1. e5frog says:

    Not bad, I usually melt solder on one pad while sliding the component into place, then solder the other pins and finish off the initial pad as it’s often not as aesthetically pleasing as the other ones. 😉
    Now that I’m complaining ( 😉 ) , is there any reason there’s those angled (45 degree?) traces where they join them? I have learned that you should avoid sharp angles (less than 90 degrees). The place where you have four traces for example, why not just plainly cross and then possibly smooth the 90 degrees angles there?
    I’m just working (mainly) as a Machine Service Engineer on our PCB factory in Sweden so I’m not very well educated on these details, but I do sometimes CAD PCB:s for our customers and at home.I’m just curious.

    • Easier routing and more visually pleasing tracks. Although I don’t exclude there might be cases when things become critical with track layouts, I haven’t had any issue so far, given the voltage levels and frequencies that are involved in my devices.

Leave a comment